Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?

This week has been hella hot. I mean seriously, have you ever experienced your sweat sweating before?! With that being said, the east coast still has one more day of this muggy, 90+ degree heat wave and I have a question for you: will you run tomorrow or decide to take it off? Personally, I’m not going to allow it to detour my desire to get out there and pound, or am I?

Well let’s see, it’s not like I haven’t earned the day off. This past Wednesday and Thursday, I was in D.C. as the 90+ degree heat was making its way up the coast. When you’re traveling for work it’s easy to bypass your runs, but I couldn’t withhold my desire to pound pavement in our nation’s capital, regardless of temp. (read Mr. Senel goes to Washington).

100

Fast forward to Saturday and we’re looking at the second day that the temp hit 100 degrees up here in good ole New Hampshire. Today’s run was reminiscent of this one time I ran through a bowl of hot soup. Kidding aside, I ran a decent pace (7:40/mi) and typical distance (8 miles), but the humidity and heat made me feel like soggy arse. So why put myself through this for another day like this when I could wait until tomorrow when the heat breaks?

Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?’

Olympian and sub 2:12 marathoner Peter Maher summed up brilliantly the mentality of a serious runner and why we put ourselves through the harshest of environs at the oddest of hours, especially when we know we could simply count this as a rest day. Running asks this very simple question to many on a daily basis. While some answer the call to be strong, others decide it’s just easier to do something else.

For me; however I’m passionate about running. Every day I lace up, I make a conscious decision not to be a wimp. Not to be the 226 pound lazy ass I was in prior to January 2012. Since then, I’ve made a decision to own my body and my ambitions. I’ve made the commitment to being the best runner my body will allow me to be.

So to answer Peter Maher’s question: Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?

I’m going to be a fucking beast! What are you going to be?

Categories: Running

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. LOL! Thanks for the “like”…grew up running in that area of the country. You haven’t trained until you’ve run for miles on end in 99% humidity and 100+ temps. Puts some POW in you, for sure! I don’t race a circuit anymore (as I”m getting tired of losing toenails) but I like to stay in my A game. 7.8 min/mile is about right for me 🙂 I’m comin’ back…
    Happy roadwork, isn’t EVERY day a good day to go for a run? Be well!

Leave a Reply

