What’s your favorite winery?

A bottle of wine begs to be shared; I have never met a miserly wine lover.

Although there are some miserly sobs out there, I think this quote rather accurately encapsulates the overall the gregarious and communal nature of the wine lovers I’ve come across in my travels. These words also beg the question, what’s your favorite winery?

Now wine purists (read nerds) deem it taboo to think of, let alone name a favorite. But let’s be real, every wine lover has a bias and those who say they don’t are full of shit. Sure, there may be a few that really stand out for cabernets or chardonnays or pinot noirs. But if we’re being honest with ourselves, we all have one (maybe two) that just make us smile more than others.

For me, that winery is Donelan Wines.

Over the years, I’ve introduced many people to their Rhône inspired wines that exhibit a refined dose of Californication. From firmly structured and complex age-worthy single vineyard greats to the elegantly smooth and supple blends ready for sipping from day one, Donelan’s line-up is second to none. Over the past few years, I’ve bought cases, hosted Donelan wine dinners, and even got them into a local hot spot (my way of sharing on a broader scale)!

But why? With all the other wines and wineries out there, why Donelan?

  1. They make some of the most epic wines available (epic wines = epic experiences),
  2. Their prices represent very good value in a segment of the wine market that has seen prices skyrocket to absurd heights,
  3. They’re amazingly true to the varietals they represent with the winemaker not looking to leave his stamp on the wine, but rather nurture the wines along to develop their own charater, and
  4. Nearly every time I open a bottle, I’m left saying “DAMN!”
  5. Finally, the people. The wines on their own are beyond reason enough, but once you throw in passionate and gregarious owner Joe Donelan, along with his eclectic winemaker Tyler Thomas, hot damn you have a recipe for a hit show!
Remnants of Greatness

Remnants of Greatness

Now that I’ve shared mine, I know that everyone else out there has a wine or winery that they love.  Their “go-to” when hosting a special dinner or simply to celebrate a successful week. So tell me, what’s your favorite winery?

Until then, I hope you’ll check out Donelan someday and if you need a recommendation, I’m always game. Cheers!

Categories: Wine & Spirits

Tags: , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Running and wine – my two favourite things!!! (Apart from my husband of course)…

  2. I have to be in the mood for wine (I’m not quite sure why). This probably sounds sacrilege to the wine world, but I enjoy Pink Moscato sparkling wine. Its’s fruity and I like fruity 🙂

    • Haha, it is sacrilege in the “proper” wine world, but I’m very improper. Anyways, who cares what they think as long as you enjoy it!

      In all honesty, most wine drinkers start off sweet and then develop a taste over time for complexity and tannin. It’s because we are raised or adapted to like sweet.

      Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

