Making a running plan and checking it twice

A lot of people run a race to see who is fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.

My planning has begun for the Smuttynose Rockfest Marathon and I honestly can’t be more excited. The guts and exhaustion that Steve Prefontaine refers to is what running is all about. Is it odd that I’m looking forward to the punishment and exhaustion to follow? Am I sadistic? Maybe a little…

To create the 16 week plan I’ll be living, I referred back to the best running resource that I’ve come across, the Runner’s World Coach: Marathon Training Guide. This isn’t just a collection of running plans and workouts, this is dogma…how to train, mentally, physically, and nutritionally to run a great marathon. It covers topics such as: setting goals, preparing mentally, dealing with GI issues (ewwwww), proper diet, how to prevent injuries, buying the right shoes, race week/day prep, running plans, and explanations of what the hell fartlek means and how a 6 x 800m tempo w/ 100m recovery will make you a better runner, just to name a few. It literally has everything and is presented in a very understandable and executable manner. For anyone planning to run a marathon, let this be your guide.

photo

Luckily for me the plan from hell (see below) doesn’t start for a week and a half, so until then I’ll enjoy running my runs and drinking some vino and/or gin & tonics. However, starting June 17th, it’s all about punishing myself into an exhausting pace and then punishing myself even more, all to achieve something I’ve got no business achieving…qualifying for Boston.

I want this...I need this. Bring it on!

I want this…I need this. Bring it on!

Categories: Running

Tags: , , , , ,

11 replies

  1. Do you live in New England somewhere? I have a friend in NH that has run the Smuttynose. Is it tough?

  2. I have used the RW plan in the past with success. Good luck on your journey and don’t forget to have fun!

  3. Woo hoo!! Good luck! Thanks again for the advice, sounds like a great plan!

  4. The quote is very true! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

