Contemplating new kicks?

The word of the Ducks’ odd footwear got around…guys would say, oh weird, what are those? The Ducks would allow as how their shoes were lighter than the clodhoppers the other guys were wearing, pointing out that the work of lifting an extra two or three ounces 900 times over the course of a mile (“That’s 100 pounds right there!”). – From “Bowerman and the Men of Oregon”

I figure consumer reviews are necessary here and there. So, here’s my review of my kicks and I believe both shoes deserve the pub.

blend

Just thought this was cool…so why not 🙂

Nike Air Pegasus+ 29 Shield

It took me a while to find “my shoe” After trying two variations of the Mizuno Wave Rider (15 & 16), Brooks Green Silence, and Nike Free Run 3, all of which allowed for some injury to creep in (i.e. – Wave Rider’s plantar fascia and Free Run 3’s tendonitis), I took some time to do some research. After reading articles online re: neutral running shoes, going to two Runner’s Alley location to get myself inspected, and then reading every review I could, I went with the Nike Pegasus+ 29 Shield. I am now on my third pair of them and (knock on wood) have not had any issues since.

My 3rd pair of these exact shoes. I guess you could say I like them.

My 3rd pair…I guess I like them a little!

What I like

  • They are rather lightweight for a cushioned running shoe (10 ounces, men’s size 10). This means I don’t have to sacrifice that much in terms of performance to obtain an extreme level of comfort.
  • The H20 Shield does block water and is eerily reflective which keeps you dry (to a point) and safer during early morning runs (plus the reflective material looks wicked cool in pictures…feet glow).
  • They have fantastic traction due to having a proper sole which offers tremendous stability and support.
  • They look really bad ass!

What I don’t like

  • When you are out in a monsoon and happen to hit a puddle (which invariably will happen), they go from weighing 10 ounces to 20 (guestimating) due to the absorption. This does wear on the legs quickly and makes them a better trainer than race shoe.

In summation, this is a great neutral shoe that will allows for less injuries due to proper cushioning. The Pegasus’ evolution has led to it being far more streamlined than its predecessors, thus putting it into the realm of serious runners. I highly recommend this shoe!

Nike Flyknit Lunar1+

This is the coolest running shoe I’ve seen (besides the original Nike Oregon Waffle). In eliminating the layers, Nike had crafted a neutral shoe that is innovative and elite, while approachable for all runners. Don’t just take my word, this shoe is a “Editor’s Choice” by Runner’s World®.

Nike Flyknit Lunar1+, the coolest shoe since the Oregon Waffle.

Nike Flyknit Lunar1+, the coolest shoe since the Oregon Waffle.

What I like

  • Exceedingly comfy and lightweight (8.4 ounces, men’s size 10).
  • Lunarlon cushioning is lightweight and soft without sacrificing responsiveness. While out on a run this am, I put it to the test, moving from 7:05/mi to a 5:30 pace and absolutely loved that I felt no loss in power transfer.
  • Staying on the cushioning, the Lunarlon offers the same support on the joints that Pegasus’ Cushlon does (in my opinion).
  • They fit, to quote Ace Ventura, “like a glove” with the use of a cable system that wraps around the foot, offering perfectly placed support.
  • I love how smart this shoe is. This shoe represents a paradigm shift in running shoes.

What I don’t like

  • They aren’t cheap. At $160, you’re making an investment, but in this case, it’s worth it.

The Flyknit represents a paradigm shift. This is not because the Nike Flyknit is the first to incorporate these technologies, but because they so seamlessly combined all of these components. It will take some time, but I feel that in 5 years we’ll be looking back at performance running shoes realizing that you don’t have to sacrifice comfort to get elite performance you want out of a shoe.

Have any thoughts or experiences with these shoes? I’d love to hear!

Happy Running!

Categories: Running

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. I LOVE nikes and have always run in them. I bought the fly knit for many of the reasons you listed (aren’t they so cool looking!?) and wore them for the first time in a tough 1/2 marathon in Arizona at 5000 ft. I got a PR and thought the shoes rocked. I did however, decide later that they are not enough support for me as I go on longer runs. I am on my 5th pair of Nike Lunar glides and couldn’t be happier. I plan on sticking with these since I have had no trouble. I am resisting the urge to customize a pair of the lunar glide 5’s….;-)

    • I’m hoping the Flyknit holds up. Thus far I’m quite happy with them as a light-weight alternative to Pegasus 29 for races. I hear ya though, support is most important, especially for the long training week. Isn’t it great to find a pair of kicks that you can turn to and know they’ll love you as much as you love them!

      As for resisting the urge, sometimes it’s good to succumb to the temptation 🙂

  2. I am an Asics girl. But getting a new pair of runners is always a happy day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

