Week 2: Newport, Fried Food and Le Tour

Week 2

This past week was a taxing one, both with work and running. I don’t know if it’s because of this damn tropical plume that’s settled in over the east coast drenching us in humidity and rain, or because of the stress and crap food I ate this week, but this week was quite a damn effort. Work was non-stop and for whatever reason, normally easily achievable times were difficult.

Although this week was a struggle, there were two things that made Week 2 memorable:

  1. Running on Bellevue Ave in Newport, home of some of the magnificent monuments of the ‘Roaring 20s’, and
  2. The 100th Tour de France set off from Corsica on its three week exodus to Paris.

As I wrote earlier in the week, I was in Newport, RI to help host a sales conference. Although the prep and professionalism needed to host such an event takes some of the fun out of being in what is a great town, it was still a good time.

Besides enjoying some native oysters and local cocktails, one of the things I made sure I did was set out early Thursday morning for a run. While everyone else were sleeping off the night before, I set off on a 6.6 miler amongst the biggest damn mansions I’ve ever seen. Well worth turning in an hour or two (or three) earlier than everyone else.  Call me a fuddy duddy, but it was well worth it.

Just an FYI, I don’t want to sound ungrateful, because having the opportunity to go to Newport for work is badass and celebrating my cohorts successes was terrific, I just wish I was there for longer. The only thing I truly regretted about Newport was eating at Flo’s Clam Shack (a picture says a thousand words).

One of the causes of my malaise?

Was this fried debauchery one of the causes of my malaise this week?

I can’t speak for all endurance athletes, but there’s something special and extremely motivating about le Tour. As a former cyclist, it makes me totally miss my bike; but it also makes it a little easier to get out and pound pavement.

The next time you’re feeling bad about having to hit the road, just think about little Thomas Voeckler going solo for a mountainous 112 miles to bring an entire nation pride, or Mark Cavendish sprinting away at 45 mph to win a bunch sprint after being in the saddle for 7 hours. Le Tour is a great motivator…run with it!

The Tour de France has a way of motivating unlike any other sporting event.

The Tour de France has a way of motivating unlike any other sporting event.

Now that this week is done, I’m really looking forward to putting the negatives of Week 2 behind me. Week 3 should shape up to be a really great week, both in terms of eating and training. On Wednesday I’m running the HASLAW Manchester 5k and Mile. Plus, I can’t wait to have some time to relax…FINALLY!

I hope you all have a kick ass week and Happy 4th of July!

Categories: Running

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. WOW! You are fast! Good luck with this next week. My last week was tough on me as well, great to read that I am not the only one 🙂 Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

