Buy this wine

Serendipity
1. an aptitude for making desirable discoveries by accident.
2. good fortune; luck.

Throughout my relationship through wine, I’ve had many serendipitous events. Some have been epic blow-outs with anything from wines dating back to the Civil War to wines that cost more than my monthly mortgage payment. Yet others experiences have been with far more understated wines. Winos call these wines “gems”, because they are special and are typically a value.

What a great wine...makes me smile!

What a great wine…makes me smile!

The 2008 Elyse “Morisoli Vineyard” Zinfandel from Napa is one hell of a gem. It’s a really well-crafted, un-manipulated California Zin, and I love it. It has refreshing acid and a sleek medium-body. After a really long day yesterday, taking a sniffy-sniff cheered me up as it was like being in a farmer’s market with crisp cherry, pepper, and hints of menthol to awaken the senses and prime the palate for what’s to come. The flavors of lively cherry, white pepper and allspice are the most pronounced wrapped around soft tannins. The five years of age on this have surely softened it up and allowed for the flavors and aromas to develop nicely.

It’s not often I will tell someone to buy this wine, but in this case that’s exactly what I’m telling you (sorry if I’m being too bossy…what can I say, I’m an Alpha). BTW, it went damn well with Taco Tuesday!

If I come across any others while I sample through life, I’ll be sure to let you know.

Cheers!

Categories: Wine & Spirits

Tags: , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Always on the lookout for a good (new) wine – I will be sure to buy it on my next trip to the Wine and Spirits store!

  2. Looks great! I wish I was able to describe wines like you do; I leave it at ‘this tasted amazing!’ Haha my recent ‘omg this is great’ was a 2010 Truchard Chardonnay. It went great with dinner!

    • That’s awesome! I know the Truchards and they’d be thrilled to hear that. In the end, isn’t ‘OMG this is great’ all that matters?! 🙂 try the Elyse, you’ll have a similar reaction. Cheers!

      • You know the truchards??? That’s awesome!! Tell them how much I loved it and how I’m on the hunt for it! And yes, you’re exactly right- that’s how I judge my wines 99%of the time:)

Leave a Reply

