Get SOMM!

Wine is sunlight, held together by water.

I’m calling bullshit on Galileo’s famous quote. Not because I don’t agree that wine is the essence of life, but because it has not helped me overcome the serious Vitamin D deficiency that this lame ass winter is causing!

Enough of that, the weather obviously sucks…I’m over it. Now on to the good stuff!

This past weekend, I finally was able to kick back and relax for a while. I decided to catch up on the most productive thing I know how to do…sit on my ass and watch a couple movies while drinking some fantabulous wine!

As a former sommelier, I thought I’d try a fun experiment, movie and wine pairing!

1st Course: Les Miserables and Sandeman 20 Year Old Tawny Port

Why? Les Miserables is about post revolutionary France, this I couldn’t drink anything too swanky or else I’d be decapitated. I chose port because during that time, England and Portugal had a good thing going when it came to wine, because the Brits were circumventing the French (shocking). I think that’s a pretty straight forward pairing…don’t you?!

Do you hear the people sing?
Singing a song of angry men?
It is the music of a people
Who will not be slaves again!
When the beating of your heart
Echoes the beating of the drums
There is a life about to start
When the port flows!

Les Mis

Pretty badass picture huh?!

2nd Course: SOMM and 2010 Bila-Haut ‘Occultum Lapidem’ (Chapoutier)

Why? SOMM is a documentary about the last 18 days of preparation for four psycho Master Sommelier candidates prior to the three day exam. What these fools put themselves (and their significant others) through for the love of the vine is intense. It was extremely emotional and at the end I cried. Since these gents are highly immersed in tasting wines from non-traditional locales, I couldn’t simply go with a Napa Cab or Burgundian Chard, that would be so faux pas! After lustfully examining my cellar, I went with a Rhone blend from the Languedoc-Roussillon region in Southern France. For a few brief and shining moments, I held the illusion of joining the ranks of Master Somm…seriously, what a naughty fantasy that is! But then I realized that I’d lose my marriage, my great job, and in turn…my ability to have great wine on a regular basis. Reality is a bitch sometimes!

SOMM

D-Rama!

And that my peoples is the logic necessary to plan for a perfect movie and wine pairing!

Next…Super Bowl = Super Wines!

Categories: Wine & Spirits

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Brilliant idea! We’ve been thinking of doing the same…movie, drink, and dinner theme…although it appears you may be more highbrow than our intentions. I was considering more of a “Pretty in Pink” plan 😉

    • I’m so stinkin’ highbrow it’s silly!

      How about Mark Wahlberg’s “Shooter” and Chateau de Beaucastel…why? There’s a farm in the movie and Beaucastel uses indigenous yeast that produces hints of “barnyard” aromas.

      Or Zoolander and Buehler White Zin…why? I don’t want you to think I’m too serious.

      DO IT and let me know how what paired well 🙂

  2. Hilarious post! I can’t wait to find out what pairs with the Super Bowl!

Leave a Reply

